Use Facebook's Extra Security Features

Facebook has becomes a gateway providing easy access to a variety of other applications. While convenient, especially when using the mobile version, it also places you at greater risk should someone gain access to your Facebook account. Someone could, for example, create a fake -- and not necessarily flattering -- Tinder account for you, easily populated with your Facebook bio and pics.

To prevent this from happening, Facebook offers a suite of extra security features to keep the hooligans and hackers at bay:

  • App Passwords: One-time passwords you can use to log in to your apps and help keep your Facebook password safe. If you have login approvals turned on (see below), you won't have to wait to receive a code when you use an app password. Instead, you can skip login approvals and log in immediately.
  • Login Approvals: Facebook's two-factor authentication. It is a security feature similar to login alerts, but with an extra security step. If you turn on login approvals, you'll be asked to enter a special security code each time you try to access your Facebook account from a new computer, phone or browser.
  • Login Alerts/Notifications: Turn this feature on to have Facebook send you a text message, email or notification each time someone logs into your account from a new place.
  • One-Time Passwords: Use to log into your account anytime you feel uncomfortable entering your real password on Facebook (e.g., using public WiFi).
  • Trusted Contacts: Lets you specify those you can reach out to if you ever need help getting into your Facebook account (ex: you forget your Facebook password and can’t get into your email account to reset it).
  • Mobile Security: Should you lose your phone, you can log out of Facebook to prevent someone else from accessing your account.

Visit the Extra Security Features section of Facebook's Help Center for instructions on how to configure your account to use these.

Comments (0)


Brown Community members, log in to submit a comment.

Top