Search Brown University

Use Two-Step Verification for a Google Account (Your Brown Email)

Two-Step Verification is NOT required and NOT the same as Two-Step Verification for your Brown account. However, you might want to enable it if you want extra protection for your Google / Gmail account. It's similar to the Two-Step Verification for your Brown account, but the notifications are delivered in a different way.  


 
How it works:

  • Even if someone has your password, they will be unable to access your account without your phone. 
  • When you log in from an untrusted location, a code will be sent to your phone and you must enter it on the login screen.
  • You can mark specific computers and devices as trusted so they no longer require the code to be entered.
  • Printable codes and/or installation of an app make it possible to log in even if you don't have access to your phone number.

Step by step instructions can be found in the Google Support Article: Set Up 2-Step Verification 


 
Use Duo Mobile for Your Google Two-Step

If you already have the Duo Mobile app installed for Brown's Two-Step Verification, you may be interested to know that you can use it to verify your Google account as well! Though it's not as slick as the Brown account (no push notifications), you can use the app to generate a passcode to type in. 

  1. Go through the Google 2-Step setup as if you are going to use the Authenticator App. Except, don't install the Authenticator app.
  2. When you see a barcode displayed on the screen, click Add Account in the Duo app and scan the barcode.

This process will look slightly different depending if you are setting up 2-Step for the first time, switching from text messages to the app, or switching from Google Authenticator to the Duo Mobile app. 

After you have completed setup, when prompted for a code, open the Duo Mobile app, click the key icon next to your email account listing, and type in the code that appears.

Disable Two-Step for Your Google Account

If you enabled 2-Step Verification and no longer wish to use it, you can disable it using the following instructions. The following link also includes instructions for how to revoke and destroy passwords used for a specific application.   

Comments (0)

Add a comment